For up to date information regarding COVID-19 and Genetic Aortic Conditions, visit https://www.marfan.org/about-us/news

Symposium sur les troubles héréditaires de l'aorte 2019

Le point de vue d'un participant

Par Lindsay Parsons

Le 2e Symposium annuel sur les aortopathies héréditaires a connu un franc succès, comme en témoigne la présence de plus de 180 professionnels de la santé et de pas moins de 40 patients et membres de leurs familles! Cette année, le symposium avait lieu au CHU Sainte-Justine, à Montréal, au Québec. L’objectif des deux journées de présentations et d’ateliers était d'informer les professionnels de la santé, les membres de la fondation, les patients et leurs familles et de leur donner l’occasion de faire du réseautage. 

Jour 1, 6 septembre 2019 

 

Il est important d’offrir un traitement personnalisé en équipe multidisciplinaire.

Non seulement les patients doivent-ils doivent-ils défendre leurs propres intérêts, mais les médecins doivent aussi le faire pour leurs patients.

Il existe une grande variabilité interindividuelle parmi les personnes atteintes d’une aortopathie héréditaire.

Voilà quelques-uns des messages que nous avons pu entendre à quelques reprises au cours de la première journée du Symposium 2019. Les participants ont eu droit à des présentations sur la génétique, le suivi et le counseling, l’évaluation du risque et la prise en charge médicale et chirurgicale des aortopathies héréditaires. Parmi les participants, on trouvait tant des experts qui ont ouvert la voie dans plusieurs des domaines traités que des professionnels néophytes de ces maladies. Les médecins de Montréal qui assistaient à l’événement ont annulé leur tournée pour assister au Symposium et ont même insisté pour que leurs résidents soient également présents afin d’en apprendre davantage sur ces maladies et sur la réalité des patients.

Le Dr Bart Loeys, de Belgique, a demandé : « Où en serons-nous dans 30 ans ? ». Le Dr Reed Peyritz, de Philadelphie, s’est penché sur la prise en charge des aortopathies héréditaires tandis que la Dre Shaine Morris, de Houston, est venue nous parler de la stratification des risques. En tout, c’est plus de 15 professionnels de la santé qui nous ont fait part de leur expérience aux membres de la communauté médicale qui traitent les patients atteints du syndrome de Loeys-Dietz ou d’autres maladies analogues.

Entre les présentations des conférenciers, des discussions de groupe permettaient aux participants de parler de cas réels et de poser des questions aux experts présents. Comme l’an dernier, la salle était remplie de professionnels dévoués et empathiques venus partager leur expérience, leurs recherches et leurs stratégies devant des cas semblables. Les efforts collectifs pour faire avancer la recherche, les traitements et les soins aux patients étaient tout simplement incroyables!

En plus des conférences et des discussions de nature scientifique, les médecins et les chercheurs ont aussi pu prendre conscience du quotidien des patients et de leurs familles grâce à la présentation de Joseph Galli intitulé : Patient and family perspective: what is it like to live with a HAD diagnosis. Joseph a rappelé aux professionnels dans la salle que leurs patients se battent pour leur vie. Un médecin lui a alors demandé comment les docteurs pouvaient aider leurs patients qui ont de la difficulté à exprimer leurs besoins ou en sont incapables. La réponse ? Utilisez les services de la Fondation du syndrome Loeys-Dietz du Canada! La fondation aide non seulement les patients, mais aussi les professionnels qui les soignent afin de mettre sur pied des équipes de soins multidisciplinaires.

Jour 2, 7 septembre 2019

Les participants à la journée destinée aux patients et à leurs familles ont tous apprécié les présentations et les ateliers en petits groupes. Ils ont ainsi pu entendre le Dr Francois-Pierre Mongeon, de Montréal, sur son expérience dans le diagnostic et le traitement médical de ces maladies, la Dre Irene Maumenee, de New York, sur l’ophtalmologie, sa spécialité et, enfin, le Dr Alain Vadeboncoeur, de Montréal, qui a donné le point de vue d’un urgentologue sur la douleur thoracique aiguë. Les cinq autres présentations portaient sur les manifestations cardiovasculaires des aortopathies héréditaires et les défis généraux que posent ces maladies.

Les ateliers étaient si emballants que tous les participants auraient pu continuer encore longtemps. Les présentations se sont déroulées en français, mais les participants pouvaient poser des questions dans la langue de leur choix et obtenaient des réponses dans cette langue. Ainsi, tous les participants, qu’ils parlent français ou anglais, ont pu obtenir des conseils d’experts de renommée mondiale. Le format des ateliers en petits groupes a permis de lever la barrière de la langue.

Les patients et leurs familles disposent maintenant d’une foule d’informations et ont pu établir des liens avec les médecins et les autres patients présents. Vivement le prochain Symposium !

Présentations

What Are the Implications of a Heritable Aortic Disorders Diagnosis Beyond the Aorta? - Dr. Timothy Bradley

Management of Acute Type B Dissection in Heritable Aortic Disorders - Dr. Oren Steinmetz

Is There a Role for Endovascular Approaches in HAD?  - Dr. Christian Rosu

Contemporary "Real World" Medical Management of Heritable Aortic Disorders  - Dr. Reed Peyritz

Surgery on the Distal Aorta - Dr. Maral Ouzounian

Risk Stratification Beyond Aortic Diameter - Dr. Shaine Morris

Patient and Family Perspective: What is it like to live with a heritable aortic disorders diagnosis  - Joseph Galli

From 4.0 to 5.5cm? Surgical Thresholds in 2019 - Dr. Jessica Forcillo

Imaging the Aorta and Vascular Tree - Dr. François-Pierre Mongeon

 

Chirurgie aortique pour aorthopathie héréditaires - Dr. Jessica Forcillo

Assurance vie, assurance invalidité: Que doit-on savoir? - Joseph Galli

Gestion de la douleur - Dr. Pablo Ingelmo

Diagnostic et traitement médical des aortopathies héréditaire - Dr François-Pierre Mongeon

The 2019 Heritable Aortic Disorders Symposium

An Attendee’s Perspective

By Lindsay Parsons

The 2nd annual Heritable Aortic Disorders symposium was a resounding success with more than 180 health professionals and 40 patients and family members in attendance! This year, the HAD collaborative hosted the event at CHU Ste. Justine in Montreal, Quebec with the goal of educating and connecting healthcare professionals, foundation members, patients, and families over 2 days of presentations, workshops and networking opportunities.

Day 1, September 6, 2019

A multidisciplinary and individual treatment approach is important.

Not only do patients need to advocate for themselves, doctors need to advocate for their patients.

There is great variability between all individuals diagnosed with Heritable Aortic Disorders.
 

These were just a few of the messages that often resurfaced during Day 1 of HAD 2019. Presentations on Genetics, Surveillance & Counselling, Risk Assessment & Medical Management, and Surgical Management of HAD were heard by the attendees. These attendees included the experts who pioneered many of the topics discussed, and professionals who are newly being introduced to these disorders. Local Montreal doctors cancelled rounds the day of the conference and instead insisted that their Resident Physicians attended the symposium to learn the realities and importance of Heritable Aortic Disorders.

Dr. Bart Loeys from Belgium asked the question “Where will we be in 30 years?” Dr. Reed Peyritz from Philadelphia spoke about management of heritable aortic disorders and Dr. Shaine Morris from Houston spoke about risk stratification. In all, more than 15 medical professionals spoke to their strengths at the conference, each offering a unique perspective to the medical community working with patients affected by Loeys-Dietz Syndrome and similar disorders.

Panel discussions between presentations welcomed questions and discussions driven by patient cases from the audience. In the same fashion as last year’s symposium, a room full of dedicated and compassionate professionals discussed their experiences, their research and their own strategies when presented with similar cases. The collective efforts to drive forward research, treatment plans and the care of each doctor’s patients was incredible!

In addition to scientific presentations and discussions, the attending physicians and scientists also heard a talk on “Patient and Family Perspective: What it is Like to Live with a HAD Diagnosis”. Joseph Galli’s talk reminded the room full of professionals that their patient is advocating for their lives. Afterwards, a doctor asked, “How do doctors help patients who can’t [or] don’t articulate their needs well?”. The answer: utilize the Loeys-Dietz Syndrome Foundation Canada! The foundation is available to not only support the patient, but to also support their health professionals through our aim to build multi-disciplinary treatment teams.

Day 2, September 7, 2019

Patients and families who attended HAD 2019’s Day 2 gave unanimously positive feedback! Attendees participated in presentations and small-group workshops. Dr. Francois-Pierre Mongeon from Montreal shared his expertise in diagnosis and medical treatment. Dr. Irene Maumenee came from New York City to speak about her specialty, ophthalmology and Dr. Alain Vadeboncoeur from Montreal spoke about acute chest pain: the viewpoint of the ER physician. These, and 5 other presentations, focused on educating the attendees on the Cardiovascular Manifestations and Systemic Challenges of Heritable Aortic Disorders.

The workshops were so successful that no one wanted to stop! Presentations were given in French and questions were answered in the preferred language of the attendee. This presented all attendees, English and French speaking, the opportunity to seek advice from world renowned experts without a language barrier. The workshops allowed for an intimate setting to do just that!

Patients and families left HAD 2019 with an abundance of information and connections to doctors and other patients. We can’t wait to do it all again next year!

Conference Presentations

What Are the Implications of a Heritable Aortic Disorders Diagnosis Beyond the Aorta? - Dr. Timothy Bradley

Management of Acute Type B Dissection in Heritable Aortic Disorders - Dr. Oren Steinmetz

Is There a Role for Endovascular Approaches in HAD?  - Dr. Christian Rosu

Contemporary "Real World" Medical Management of Heritable Aortic Disorders  - Dr. Reed Peyritz

Surgery on the Distal Aorta - Dr. Maral Ouzounian

Risk Stratification Beyond Aortic Diameter - Dr. Shaine Morris

Patient and Family Perspective: What is it like to live with a heritable aortic disorders diagnosis  - Joseph Galli

From 4.0 to 5.5cm? Surgical Thresholds in 2019 - Dr. Jessica Forcillo

Imaging the Aorta and Vascular Tree - Dr. François-Pierre Mongeon

Chirurgie aortique pour aorthopathie héréditaires - Dr. Jessica Forcillo

Assurance vie, assurance invalidité: Que doit-on savoir? - Joseph Galli

Gestion de la douleur - Dr. Pablo Ingelmo

Diagnostic et traitement médical des aortopathies héréditaire - Dr François-Pierre Mongeon